A diamond’s weight is measured in carats. The carat is the standard unit of measurement used to indicate the weight of diamonds and precious gemstones. The carat is subdivided into 100 equal parts called points. One point equals 0.01 carat or 1/100 carat. 100 points add up to one carat with 0.2 grams or 0.007 ounces. Carat weight is written in decimal numbers, but it is frequently expressed in fractions which are easier to understand. It is important to note that weight fractions are approximate and usually refer to ranges of weight.


It is important to know about the connection between carat weight and price. In the production of a single, one-carat diamond can require the mining of up to one million rough diamonds. The rarity of larger, high-quality diamonds has resulted in significant price escalations between sizes. A one-carat diamond can command four to six times more than a half-carat diamond.


Diamond pricing is determined by carat weight, and broken down in half-carat increments. Therefore, assuming factors like cut and clarity are equal; a diamond weighing one carat will cost more than a diamond weighing slightly less than one carat.


However, much as a person’s weight does not necessarily correlate with height, carat weight, by itself, may not accurately reflect a diamond’s size. A diamond’s cut grade should also be considered because, as we noted in the cut grade section, when a diamond is cut with the proper proportions, the maximum amount of light or sparkle is returned out of the top of the diamond. Thus, when a diamond is well cut, the light reflected out of the top makes it appear larger.



When choosing a carat weight, be sure to consider the ring size of the wearer. A one-carat diamond will appear larger on a size 5 finger than it would on a larger hand.


A flawless diamond with little to no imperfections is often desired due to its rarity, but they are also the most costly. Therefore, it is important to keep in mind that it is very common for diamonds to be formed with slight imperfections.


These imperfections are known as inclusions and usually occur during the diamond’s crystallization period within the earth or from the stresses of mining and processing. . Inclusions found on a diamond can be considered nature’s birthmarks, the distinguishing characteristics that make the stone unique. Inclusions are anything from tiny white points to dark dots, cracks or scratches. When grading a diamond, the amount of inclusions and blemished has a direct impact on its clarity and value.


Evaluating diamond clarity involves determining the number, size, relief, nature, and position of these characteristics, as well as how these affect the overall appearance of the stone. While no diamond is perfectly pure, the closer it comes, the higher its value


The GIA Diamond Clarity Grade scale has five main categories of clarity characteristics with 11 grades in all.


  • Flawless (FL)
    No inclusions and no blemishes visible under 10x magnification
  • Internally Flawless (IF)
    No inclusions -visible under 10x magnification
  • Very, Very Slightly Included (VVS1 and VVS2)
    Inclusions so slight they are difficult for a skilled grader to see under 10x magnification
  • Very Slightly Included (VS1 and VS2)
    Inclusions are clearly visible under 10x magnification, but can be characterized as minor
  • Slightly Included (SI1 and SI2)
    Inclusions are noticeable under 10x magnification
  • Included (I1, I2, and I3)
    Inclusions are obvious under 10x magnification which may affect transparency and brilliance


Diamonds rated in the VS clarity range will not cost as much as more premium clarities. VS diamonds will contain inclusions that are undetectable to the unaided eye. Considered by many to be a great value, SI diamonds will contain inclusions that can be detected with magnification, yet are typically undetectable to the unaided eye and do not detract from the beauty of the diamond.


Diamonds are colored when the crystals grow inside the earth. Tiny traces of some elements like nitrogen can color the crystals. In addition, the pressure involved in the diamond formation creates distortion in the crystal structure which is believed to also contribute to its color.


With its many prismatic facets, a colorless diamond reflects light into a spectrum of hues, a characteristic often referred to as "fire". The presence of noticeable color in a diamond may reduce its ability to reflect light. Consequently, diamonds with lower color grades will not show the same luminosity and fire as those with higher grades. The most valuable diamonds have little to no detectable color.


After cut, color is generally considered the second most important characteristic when selecting a diamond. This is because the human eye tends to detect a diamond’s sparkle (light performance) first, and color second.


According to GIA “D-to-Z color-grading system”, the diamond color scale begins at D (colorless) and ends at Z (light yellow), diamond with natural colors outside this range (Z+) are classified as fancy colors.




D grade is absolutely colorless, E and F contain minute traces of color or only be detected by trained gemologist. G and H color is the most common grade which jewelers using to set on fashion jewelry. They contain noticeable color only when compared to higher color grade and it is colorless to untrained eye.


How the diamond is set can make difference in color too. Color is more important in rings than earrings and pendants because the diamond is usually larger. A common misconception is that only colorless diamonds exude brilliance. In reality, a well-cut diamond can emit fire and beauty even with traces a faint yellow, although the presence of color will decrease the stone’s value.


The meaning of diamond cut divided into two parts: the diamond shape and the diamond quality.


The cut of a diamond is considered to be the most important factor as it will affect the diamond appearance and the beauty of the whole ring. The cut determines how light is reflected, dispersed and scintillated. Two diamonds equal in carat weight, color and clarity can differ in appearance and value because of differences in cut quality.


A diamond’s cut grade is an objective measure of a diamond’s light performance, or, what we generally think of as sparkle. When a diamond is cut with the proper proportions, light is returned out of the top of the diamond (which gemologists refer to as the table). If it is cut too shallow, light leaks out of the bottoms; too deep and it escapes out of the side.


A diamond’s polish and symmetry are critical to the quality of its cut. For maximum brilliance, every facet of a diamond should be professionally polished after the cutting process. A high quality polish will leave little to no scratches and marks, while a poor polish can result in imperfections on the surface of the diamond, which detract from its value.


A symmetrical diamond will have well-balanced, properly aligned facets, resulting in a high level of fire and brilliance. If the facets are not symmetrical or not optimally shaped, they will display less sparkle.


A gemologist assigns a cut grade as a means of measuring a diamond’s proportions, craftsmanship, quality of polish, and light reflecting properties. A diamond with a high quality cut grade will exude a large amount of brilliance and fire.


Powered by Magento extensions - Magento modules